Victors’ Village

In The Hunger Games, the Victors’ Village is a wealthy residential area created as a reward for the victors of the Hunger Games.

The Definitive Glossary for The Hunger Games

The Victors’ Village area is present in each district and contains a dozen luxurious houses where victors of past Hunger Games and their families reside. The Victors’ Village of District 12 was occupied only by Katniss Everdeen and her family, Peeta Mellark and Haymitch Abernathy.

History and Description

The Victors’ Village as a concept was created by Coriolanus Snow after the 10th Hunger Games. After seeing the pathetic tributes who were picked for the 10th Hunger Games, Snow wished to encourage a better breed of children to volunteer for the Games. Once he began working as an apprentice Gamemaker, he decided that giving the tributes a chance at a luxurious life might tempt them to train and volunteer for the Games. He also wanted victors to be the cause of envy in the districts. As such, he put forth the idea of a luxurious residential area within the district, which would house not only all past winners but also their families.

The books mention the Victors’ Village in District 12, having around a dozen houses, of which only one was occupied by Haymitch Abernathy until Katniss Everdeen and Peeta Mellark become victors in the 74th Hunger Games. However, it is most likely that the Victors’ Village in other districts (especially Career Districts) were bigger, as they have more victors than District 12. 

The houses in The Victors’ Village are all built differently. However, they are all extremely luxurious. On the outside, they are huge marble mansions, while they are decorated uniquely on the inside. Katniss notes that while her own house is white and neat, Haymitch’s house was wooden and gloomy. Katniss also mentions that her house in the Village could fit in her old house several times over. Each house contained a living room, an office, a study, several bedrooms and bathrooms, a fireplace, a kitchen, and a basement. 

The Victors’ Village in District 12 was left untouched during the bombing by the Capitol, presumably to preserve a place for Capitol officials to reside during their visits to the districts. Katniss also speculates that the Village was left untouched to send a message. After the Second Rebellion, the Village was occupied by regular citizens, one of whom was Greasy Sae.

Katniss and Peeta’s Life In the Victors’ Village

Katniss and Peeta move into the mansions provided for them in the Victors’ Village after winning the 74th Hunger Games. Their only neighbor is Haymitch, who has been living there since he won the 50th Hunger Games (Second Quarter Quell). Katniss moves in with her sister, Primrose, and her mother, Mrs. Everdeen, while Peeta moves in alone. Both Katniss and Peeta receive a large sum of money from the Capitol regularly as a reward for winning the Games, and as such, they are no longer required to work for a living anymore. 

Peeta spends most of his time painting, baking or honing his camouflage skills while occasionally going into the Merchant Section to meet his family. Katniss spends time with her family during the weekdays and goes hunting with Gale Hawthorne on Sundays. This life, however, does not last long for either Peeta or Katniss as the rules of the Third Quarter Quell force both of them back into the Hunger Games arena once again.


Where is the Victors’ Village in The Hunger Games

Victors’ Village is a section that is located in each district of Panem, housing the victors (and mentors) of the Hunger Games. Each Victors’ Village contains about a dozen luxurious houses where past victors from previous Hunger Games reside.

What do the victors win in Hunger Games?

The victor of the Hunger Games is rewarded with a lifetime of luxury. They are allotted a huge mansion in the Victors’ Village (a wealthy neighborhood away from the gloomy houses of the district) where they can live with their families. The victor also wins their district a year’s supply of food. Further, they are exempt from playing in the Hunger Games ever again.

Who are the victors in the Hunger Games? 

The Hunger Games is a battle royale to the death between 24 children, aged between 12 and 18. The last child standing is crowned the Victor for that particular edition of the Hunger Games. Finnick Odair, for instance, won the 65th Hunger Games and became a victor. His weapon of choice was a trident. Some known victors include Chaff, Seeder, Blight, Mags Flanagan, Cashmere, Gloss, Brutus, and Enobaria, all of whom were reaped for the Third Quarter Quell.

How did the victors win the Hunger Games?

Most victors have different strategies for winning the Games. Johanna Mason, for instance, pretended to be weak (so that no one would target her) for the first half of the Games, before viciously killing the rest of the tributes. Wiress and Beetee used their knowledge of electricity (by creating electrical traps) to their advantage in the arena.

What is the prequel to The Hunger Games series (created by Suzanne Collins)?

The prequel to The Hunger Games series is The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes. It tells the survival story of the female tribute, Lucy Gray Baird. It also dwells into the past of President Snow.

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap