Laura Ingalls Wilder Facts 📝

Laura Ingalls Wilder is a beloved American author and one of the most iconic writers of children’s literature. She is best known for her “Little House” book series, which she based on her own life growing up in the 1800s.

Laura Ingalls Wilder

(1867-1957), American

Although many people know Wilder’s stories, few may know the lesser-known facts about her life and career.
The experiences she describes in her novels are based mostly on fact but are usually considered to be semi-autobiographical. The Ingalls family struggled to survive while enduring a pioneering lifestyle and moving from place to place, having to repetitively reestablish their homestead in different locations.

Laura Ingalls Wilder was born in a log cabin

The most iconic image of her early life. She was born in 1867 in Pepin, Wisconsin, to Charles and Caroline Ingalls. At the time, the Ingalls family was living a simple, nomadic lifestyle of subsistence farming. The family moved often throughout Laura’s early life, leading her from Wisconsin to Minnesota and eventually settling in the Dakotas. 

Despite this ever-changing environment, her childhood would become a source of inspiration for the later “Little House” series. The log cabin where she was born has since been preserved and is now a museum dedicated to her memory.

She was the second child born to her parents

Charles and Caroline Ingalls. She had three siblings, Mary, Carrie, and Grace, who were born before her. All four girls were home-schooled, living in Wisconsin, Minnesota, Kansas, Iowa, and South Dakota. They often faced adversity, but their parents taught them to be resourceful and never give up. This attitude stayed with Laura throughout her life, even after she married Almanzo Wilder and became a mother herself. 

Throughout her childhood, she remained close to her siblings and worked together with them to make the best of their situation. It’s this same determination that allowed her to write some of the most beloved stories about family life on the American frontier.

The Ingalls family moved around a lot when Laura was young

When Laura was born, the family lived in a log cabin in Pepin, Wisconsin. From there, they moved to Indian Territory (now Kansas) and then to Minnesota before settling in South Dakota. All of the moves were necessary for survival, as Charles Ingalls was looking for work and better opportunities for his family. 

As a result of these frequent moves, Laura’s life was very transient – she was constantly on the move and never stayed in one place for very long. During this time, Laura learned many valuable lessons about hard work, perseverance, and adaptability.

Laura married Almanzo Wilder when she was 18 years old

It was 1885 when Laura Ingalls Wilder married Almanzo Wilder in Minnesota. Almanzo had lived in the Dakotas and was from an established farming family. He had previously been married, but his first wife had died in childbirth, leaving him with a daughter. When Laura and Almanzo met, he was looking for someone to share his homesteading life.

The couple moved around for a time, eventually settling on a farm in Mansfield, Missouri, where they began their family. Almanzo, who was described as an enthusiastic, hard-working farmer, proved to be successful in the farming business, allowing them to live a comfortable life. During this time, Laura started writing her famous “Little House” books, which she based on her childhood experiences.

They had one child together, Rose

Laura Ingalls Wilder and her husband, Almanzo Wilder, welcomed their only child, Rose Wilder Lane, in 1886. Rose was the inspiration for the character of Rose in the “Little House” series. Growing up, she accompanied her parents on various moves, which provided her with a wide variety of life experiences that helped shape her future. Later in life, Rose worked as a successful journalist, author, and businesswoman. She was also instrumental in publishing Laura’s “Little House” books, editing each one before it went to print. Thanks to her mother’s stories and her own accomplishments, Rose left an impressive legacy behind.

Laura started writing her “Little House” books in the 1930s

In 1932, Laura Ingalls Wilder published her first book in the “Little House” series, which tells the story of her family’s life as pioneers in the American West. The book was an immediate success and was followed by a total of eight books, spanning from her childhood to her adult years. The books are highly acclaimed for their vivid storytelling and captivating descriptions of frontier life.

The “Little House” books have since been adapted into many different formats, including television series, musicals, and even feature films. Wilder’s books continue to be beloved by readers of all ages and have made her one of the most renowned authors in American literature.

The first book was published in 1932

The first book in the beloved “Little House” series, ‘Little House in the Big Woods,’ was published in 1932. Written by Laura Ingalls Wilder and her daughter Rose, it tells the story of the Ingalls family’s life on a Wisconsin farm during the 1870s. The book was an instant hit with readers, launching a series of books that have become iconic of pioneer life in America. 

It is said that Wilder wrote the books to pass on her stories of a simpler way of life to her grandchildren, and her work has been a source of inspiration for generations. ‘Little House in the Big Woods‘ became a classic, as did the rest of the books in the series, and today they continue to be cherished by young and old alike.

Laura died in 1957

Laura Ingalls Wilder passed away in her home in 1957 at the age of 90. During her later years, she wrote seven books in the “Little House” series based on her family’s life in the late 1800s. She had moved to Missouri in the early 1900s, where she and her husband Almanzo raised their daughter Rose. 

Laura received numerous awards for her work, including the Laura Ingalls Wilder Award, which is given annually for “lasting contribution to children’s literature.” Her last book, The First Four Years,’ was published posthumously in 1971. Her work has inspired generations of readers, and she will always be remembered as one of America’s most beloved authors.

Her daughter, Rose, edited and published the last “Little House” book

The First Four Years,’ which was published in 1971. Rose Wilder had a special relationship with her mother, who helped her edit her stories for publication. Rose took on the task of completing the final “Little House” book after her mother passed away to ensure that her mother’s legacy would live on. ‘The First Four Years‘ has become a beloved classic in the series and is remembered fondly by fans of the books.


Why was Laura Ingalls Wilder important?

Laura Ingalls Wilder was an iconic author whose work has been adapted into television, films, and stage plays. Her books, the Little House series, bring to life the struggles and joys of a pioneer family in the late 19th century.

What happens in ‘Little House on the Prairie‘?

The ‘Little House on the Prairie‘ book chronicles the experiences of the Ingalls family as they move from Wisconsin to Kansas and then finally to De Smet, South Dakota. Through the stories, readers get a glimpse of life in the West during this time period.

Where is Laura Ingalls Wilder from?

Laura Ingalls Wilder was born in Pepin, Wisconsin, on February 7, 1867. She grew up in various parts of Wisconsin, Kansas, Minnesota, Iowa, and South Dakota.

Emma Baldwin
About Emma Baldwin
Emma graduated from East Carolina University with a BA in English, minor in Creative Writing, BFA in Fine Art, and BA in Art Histories. Literature is one of her greatest passions which she pursues on Book Analysis.
Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap