Laura Ingalls Wilder’s Best Books 📚

Laura Ingalls Wilder is best-known for her “Little House” series of novels that are aimed at young readers. The books chronicle, in a semi-autobiographical manner, the struggles her family endured as pioneers in the American mid-west. 

Laura Ingalls Wilder

(1867-1957), American

Wilder’s series is beloved by millions of readers around the world, who are drawn to her vivid stories of pioneering life on the American frontier. Despite happening decades ago, the events of the novels resonate with readers from all walks of life. They evoke feelings of nostalgia and love, and are a source of inspiration for many enduring life’s difficulties.

Little House in the Big Woods

Laura Ingalls Wilder’s timeless classic, ‘Little House in the Big Woods,’ tells the story of an American family’s life in the 1800s. The Ingalls family lives in a small log cabin deep in the Wisconsin woods. They make their living from the bounty of the land, growing their own food and hunting for game.

The novel follows Laura, the youngest child of Charles and Caroline Ingalls, as she learns to appreciate the beauty of her surroundings and the importance of hard work. Through her adventures, she finds friendship and a sense of family that helps her to become a resilient young woman. The book is full of vivid descriptions of the wilderness that set it apart from other children’s books at the time. 

Ingalls Wilder perfectly captures the essence of rural life, while her writing style has kept readers enchanted for generations. Her unique perspective on what it meant to be a pioneer has helped shape our understanding of America’s past. 

Farmer Boy

Laura Ingalls Wilder’s second novel in the Little House” series, ‘Farmer Boy,’ is an adventure-filled story that chronicles the life of Almanzo Wilder as he grows up on a New York farm. 

The novel follows Almanzo and his family as they work together to survive the harsh winter conditions and endure the many chores and responsibilities of running a farm. The novel showcases Laura Ingalls Wilder’s mastery of details as she describes everything from milking cows to harvesting grains. 

Throughout the novel, Almanzo displays remarkable resilience, especially when helping his family with their daily struggles. He faces his obstacles head-on, ultimately succeeding in all that he sets out to do. ‘Farmer Boy‘ is a powerful coming-of-age story, full of life lessons, humor, and heart. 

Little House on the Prairie

Laura Ingalls Wilder’s ‘Little House on the Prairie‘ is a beloved classic, having charmed readers for generations. Published in 1935, the novel follows the Ingalls family as they travel west from their home in Wisconsin, settling on a farm in Kansas. With vivid descriptions of their travels, the joys and difficulties of prairie living, and colorful characters, the novel captures the spirit of frontier life. 

Young readers can relate to Laura’s adventures and misadventures, while adults marvel at the resilience and courage of the family. Throughout her novel, Wilder celebrates the beauty of nature and the importance of family and community.

On the Banks of Plum Creek

Laura Ingalls Wilder’s fourth novel in the “Little House” series, ‘On the Banks of Plum Creek,’ takes readers on a journey with the Ingalls family as they relocate to Plum Creek, Minnesota. It is here where they make their home next to Plum Creek. The novel follows the family’s struggles and joys as they adapt to living in the Midwest. 

Laura experiences many new things, like plowing fields, swimming in the creek, dealing with grasshopper infestations, and learning to sew. Ma and Pa Ingalls take on various jobs and strive to build their new home and farm. Throughout their time there, the Ingalls family learns about self-reliance and the importance of a hard work ethic. They also form bonds with their neighbors as they help each other through difficult times.

By the Shores of Silver Lake

By the Shores of Silver Lake‘ is the fifth book in Laura Ingalls Wilder’s “Little House” series. It follows the Ingalls family as they move to Dakota Territory in 1879 and establish a homestead on the banks of Silver Lake.

The book covers several years and tells the story of how the Ingalls family lived off the land, farmed the land, and navigated a new way of life away from their home in Wisconsin. One of the main parts of the novel concerns Laura taking care of her sister Mary who was blinded by scarlet fever. Readers are also introduced to Laura’s youngest sister, Grace.

The Long Winter

Published in 1940, Laura Ingalls Wilder’s sixth novel in the “Little House” series, ‘The Long Winter,’ tells the story of the Ingalls family surviving the harsh winter of 1880-81. The book starts with the family moving to the South Dakota homestead and then struggling to survive a cold winter with very little food and fuel.

Through the kindness of strangers, they manage to make it through the winter despite various struggles, such as blizzards, sickness, and a lack of food. 

The Long Winter is considered one of the best books in the “Little House series because of its descriptions of life on the prairie during the harsh winter months. Wilder does a great job of bringing to life the hardships of pioneer life through her vivid descriptions of the snow, the loneliness of winter, and the courage of the Ingalls family in enduring their difficult circumstances.

Little Town on the Prairie

Laura Ingalls Wilder’s seventh book, ‘Little Town on the Prairie,’ is an engaging read for fans of all ages. Set in the late 1800s, the novel follows the Ingalls family as they settle down in De Smet, South Dakota, and start a new life.

This book is full of exciting adventures, from blizzards and prairie fires to Laura’s first job at the print shop. Readers will also learn about the growing town and meet the kind people who help make it the lively place it is. We see the strong sense of community and the importance of friendship through various events that take place, such as the Fourth of July celebration.

Little Town on the Prairie‘ is a must-read for anyone looking to revisit the days of early America. It is both a coming-of-age story and a historical narrative that explores many themes, such as perseverance, courage, and loyalty. The characters are lovingly portrayed by Wilder, and readers can easily connect with them throughout the novel.


What is Laura Ingalls Wilder’s best book?

While opinions may vary, many readers consider ‘Little House in the Big Woods‘ to be Wilder’s best book. It is the first in the series and tells the story of the Ingalls family’s pioneering adventures.

Why is Laura Ingalls Wilder so popular? 

Laura Ingalls Wilder’s books are popular because they capture a charming and timeless vision of America’s past, with stories of adventure, courage, and family. Her books remind us of the importance of cherishing the small moments of life.

What is Laura Ingalls Wilder known for? 

Laura Ingalls Wilder is best known for her “Little House” series of novels, which tell the story of her family’s life as pioneers in the American Midwest during the late 19th century.

Emma Baldwin
About Emma Baldwin
Emma graduated from East Carolina University with a BA in English, minor in Creative Writing, BFA in Fine Art, and BA in Art Histories. Literature is one of her greatest passions which she pursues on Book Analysis.
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap
Share to...