Diana Gabaldon’s Best Books 📖

Diana Gabaldon is an author whose works span multiple genres, from historical fiction to science fiction and fantasy. She is best known for her ‘Outlander’ series, which has sold more than 25 million copies and been adapted into a popular television show.

Diana Gabaldon

American Author

Her best books are all part of this 10-book series. Most readers regard the first few books as the best: ‘Outlander,’ ‘Dragonfly in Amber,’ and ‘Voyager.’ But, all the novels have something to offer and a unique perspective on the historical events they depict. 


Outlander‘ is the first book in Diana Gabaldon’s series of the same name. It tells the story of Claire Beauchamp Randall, a British Army nurse in 1945 who is transported back in time to the 18th century. Claire soon finds herself at the center of a conflict between two clashing worlds – modern and traditional – as she is torn between her loyalty to her husband in the present and an unexpected passion for a young Highland warrior, Jamie Fraser, from the past. 

Dragonfly in Amber

Diana Gabaldon’s second novel in the Outlander series, ‘Dragonfly in Amber,’ begins with Claire back in the 20th century, where she has been living for 20 years. She has had a daughter, Brianna, and is interested in finding out what happened to the people she met in the 18th century. As the book progresses, she travels and explains to Brianna what happened to her following the events of ‘Outlander.’


Voyager‘ is the third book in Diana Gabaldon’s series. The novel follows Jamie Fraser and Claire Randall, specifically during the events of the Battle of Culloden, where Jamie is wounded and later as he hides out in a cave near his home. Claire finds Jamie in Edinburgh twenty years later, where he’s living as Alexander Malcolm. They travel from there to Jamaica in the novel.

Drums of Autumn

Drums of Autumn‘ by Diana Gabaldon is the fourth installment in her beloved Outlander series. The story follows Jamie and Claire Fraser as they journey to North Carolina to start a new life. Along their journey, the couple faces the hardships of building a home from the ground up and navigating the dangerous social landscape of the colonies. Brianna, Calire’s daughter, decides to abandon her life and travel into the past to learn about her father and find her mother.

The Fiery Cross

The Fiery Cross‘ is the fifth novel in the Outlander series. This exciting adventure follows Jamie Fraser and his family as they fight for freedom during the American Revolution. Jamie is called to form a militia to help put down a rebellion in the state. But, with Calire’s foreknowledge of how the American Revolution turned out, things get very complicated.

A Breath of Snow and Ashes

A Breath of Snow and Ashes‘ is the sixth novel in the Outlander series. It follows Jamie Fraser and Claire Beauchamp Randall Fraser as they continue their lives in America. Jamie is forced to decide whether he wants to stay loyal to the British crown or betray the British and join in with the Americans fighting for freedom. 

Jamie and Claire must use their wits and courage to deal with the chaos of the American Revolution and their own personal struggles.

An Echo in the Bone

The seventh novel in the Outlander series, ‘An Echo in the Bone,’ follows events in the 18th and 20th centuries. The book details their struggles in North Carolina as well as Jamie’s reluctant decision to side with the Americans in the fight for independence.

It paints a vivid picture of the war’s devastating effects on both sides while weaving Gabaldon’s much-loved themes of love, family, and friendship throughout.

Written in My Own Heart’s Blood

This novel is the eighth book in the Outlander series. It is an epic historical drama that follows the story of the Fraser family and their adventures through time. The novel features events from the Battle of Monmouth as well as other real events of the American Revolution. In this novel, Claire marries John Grey for protection after Jamie is assumed to be lost at sea.

Meanwhile, Brianna embarks on her own journey to find her parents. Along the way, they encounter new characters, new adversaries, and old friends.

Lord John and the Hellfire Club

Lord John and the Hellfire Club is one of a few novels that Gabaldon wrote about a secondary character from ‘Outlander,’ Lord John Grey. He proved to be a very popular addition to the ‘Outlander‘ books and has since been featured in nine other novels or short stories separate from the central series.

This was the first published novella that featured his character as the main protagonist. It was published in 1998 and is set in 1756 in London. There, John finds and interacts with the Hellfire Club, a group investigating the supernatural.

Lord John and the Private Matter

Published in 2003, this more recent novel is the first full-length book that featured Grey as the main character. It is set a year later, in 1757, and follows Grey’s search for a murderer and quest to help his cousin’s fiance. It was followed by ‘Lord John and the Succubus,’ ‘Lod John and the Brotherhood of the Blade,’ and ‘Lord John and the Haunted Soldier.’ The most recent “Lord John” book was ‘Besieged,’ published in 2017.


What is the best book in the Outlander series? 

This is a difficult question to answer since readers have different preferences and experiences, but overall, the first book in the series, ‘Outlander,’ is generally regarded as the best book in the series.

What kind of novels does Diana Gabaldon write? 

Diana Gabaldon is best known for her ‘Outlander‘ series, but she has written many other novels as well. She has written historical fiction, mystery, suspense, and even some contemporary fiction. Additionally, she has written several short stories and two nonfiction works about her writing process.

Which is better, Diana Gabaldon’s books or the “Outlander” TV series? 

Different readers may have different opinions, but many readers consider the Outlander book series to be Diana Gabaldon’s crowning achievement. But, the TV series has also received widespread critical acclaim, becoming one of the most beloved series of recent times.

What is Diana Gabaldon known for?

Diana Gabaldon is best known for her ‘Outlander‘ series of novels, which blends elements of historical fiction, romance, adventure, and fantasy. As a writer, she’s also known for completing incredibly extensive research into her chosen subject matter.

Emma Baldwin
About Emma Baldwin
Emma graduated from East Carolina University with a BA in English, minor in Creative Writing, BFA in Fine Art, and BA in Art Histories. Literature is one of her greatest passions which she pursues on Book Analysis.
Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap